Gist Hub

Headies Award 2020: Full Nominations List

Headies Award 2020: Full Nominations List

Following in the footsteps of the 2019 nominations, the 2020 Headies are incredible inclusive.

On December 4, 2020, Nigeria’s premier music award show announced nominations for their upcoming event. The year-in-review is between July 2019 and September 2020.

This will be the 14th edition of an award heralded by Ayo Animashaun and his company, HipHop World. Nigerian stars like , Fireboy, and more lead nominations.

leads the way with six nominations.

This year will see new the new category, Songwriter of The Year. Album categories of Pop/R&B have also been split into two different categories. There will also be a new category for Best Alternative Album. Following in the footsteps of the 2019 nominations, the 2020 Headies are incredible inclusive.

There is no segmentation of nominations to just the superstars. The award itself will be held virtually very soon.

You can see the full list of nominations below;

Artiste of the year


1.Burna boy








5.Tiwa savage


Song Of The Year


1.Fem – Davido


2.Nobody – Dj Neptune Feat. Joeboy & Mr. Eazi


3.Joro – Wizkid


4.Mafo – Naira Marley


5.Duduke – Simi


Album Of The Year


1.African Giant – Burna Boy


2.Apollo –


3.Afro Pop Vol. 1 – Adekunle Gold


4.Yellow – Brymo


5.Boo Of The Booless – Chike


Best Rap Album


1.God’s Engineering – Aq


2.Illy Chapo X – Illbliss


3.Ypszn2 – Psycho Yp


4.Cult! – Paybac Iboro


5.The Erigma II – Erigga

Producer Of The Year


1.Pheelz – ‘Billionaire’ By Teni


2.Spax – ‘Away’ By Oxlade


3.Kel P – ‘Pull Up’ By Burna Boy


4.Sarz – ‘Mad’ By Sarz & Wurld


Best R&B Album


1.Laughter, Tears And Goosebumps – Fireboy Dml


2.I Like Girls With Trobul – Sarz & Wurld


3.King – Praiz


4.Boo Of The Booless – Chike


5.Celia – Tiwa Savage


Best Alternative Album


1.Yellow – Brymo


2.Lucid – Asa


3.The Light – Bez


4.Pioneers – Drb Lasgidi


5.Roots – The Cavemen


Best Pop Album


1.Apollo – Fireboy Dml


2.African Giant – Burna Boy


3.A Good Time – Davido


4.Woman Of Steel – Yemi Alade


5.Afro Pop Vol. 1 – Adekunle Gold

Next Rated




2.Omah Lay




4.Bella Shmurda


Best ‘Alternative’ Song


1.Corner – Lady Donly Feat. Vanjess & The Cavemen


2.I Wonder – Moelogo


3.Bitter – Deena Ade


4.Anita – The Cavemen


5.Money Devotion – Gbasky


6.God Save The Queen – Olu


Best Street-Hop Artiste


1.Naira Marley & Young John – Mafo


2.Mayorkun – Geng


3.Reminisce Feat. Olamide & Naira Marley – Instagram


4.Rudeboy – Audio Money


5.Ivd & Zlatan – Bolanle


6.Olamide – Pawon

Songwriter Of The Year


1.Simisola Bolatito Ogunleye (Simi – Duduke)


2.Adedamola Adefolahan (Fireboy Dml Dml – Dreamer)


3.Damini Ogulu (Burna Boy – Way Too Big)


4.Stanley Omah Didia (Omah Lay – Bad Influence)


5.Sadiq Onifade (Wurld – Ghost Town)


6.Adekunle Kosoko (1 Milli


Lyricist On The Roll


1. Aq – Eunice


2. Blaqbonez – Define Rap 2


3. Mi Abaga – Trinity


4. Illbliss – Country


5. Phenom – Get The Info


6. Phyno – Speak Life


Best Collabo


1.Know You – Ladipoe Feat. Simi


2.Nobody – Dj Neptune Feat. Joeboy & Mr. Eazi


3.Sweet In The Middle – Davido Feat. Naira Marley, Zlatan & Wurld


4.Don’t Call Me Back – Joeboy Feat. Mayorkun


5.Totori – Id Cabasa Feat. Wizkid & Olamide


6.Get The Info – Phyno Ft Phenom, Falz

Best Vocal Performance (Female)


1.Simi – No Longer Beneficial


2.Lindsey Abudei – One On The Outside


3.Niniola – Addicted


4.J-Dess – Chi Efo


5.Yemi Alade – Lai Lai


6.Imanse – Ajala


Best Vocal Performance (Male)


Wurld – Ghost Town


2.Chike – Forgive


3.Praiz – Under The Sky


4.Cohbams – Plenti


5.Nonso Amadi – What Makes You Sure


6.Johnny Drille – Count On You

Best Music Video


1. Eli – Fireboy By Clarence Peters


2.1 Milli – Davido By Director K


3.Smile – Wizkid By Meji Alabi


4.Billionaire – Teni By Tg Omori


5.Shekere – Yemi Alade By Ovie Etseyatse


Best R&B Single


1.Under The Sky – Praiz


2.Duduke – Simi


3.Mad – Sarz & Wurld


4.Bad Influence – Omah Lay


5.Tattoo – Fireboy Dml


6.Dangerous Love – Tiwa Savage


Best Rap Single


1.Ogb4ig – Reminisce


2.Shut Up – Blaqbonez


3.Country – Illbliss


4.Get The Info – Phyno, Falz & Phenom


5.Bop Daddy – Falz Feat. Ms. Banks

Best Recording Of The Year


Ozymandias – Brymo


Smile – Wizkid Feat. Her


Wonderful – Burna Boy


Dreamer – Fireboy Dml


Ghost Town – Wurld


Headies Revelation


1. Victor Ad


2. Fireboy Dml


3. Joeboy


4. Teni


5. Rema


6. Chike


Best Pop Single


Billionaire – Teni


Nobody – Dj Neptune Feat. Joeboy & Mr. Eazi.


Lady – Rema


Fem – Davido


Joro – Wizkid


Best Pop Single


1.Billionaire – Teni


2.Nobody – Dj Neptune Feat. Joeboy & Mr. Eazi.


3.Lady – Rema


4.Fem – Davido


5.Joro – Wizkid


6.Skeletun – Tekno

Rookie Of The Year




2.Alpha P






5.Bad Boy Timz


Headies’ Viewer’s Choice




2.Omah Lay


3.Burna Boy




5.Fireboy Dml




7.Dj Neptune




African Artiste Recognition


1.Master Kg


2.Kuami Eugene


3.Sauti Sol


4.Shaata Wale




Hall Of Fame


King Sunny Ade


Special Recognition:


Eedris Abdulkareem




Skeletun – Tekno


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.